Just a few days left for the Monthly Competition. Hurry, hurry, hurry!
Just a few days left for the Monthly Competition. Hurry, hurry, hurry!
powered by bulletin

A place for Stupid Questions

Where to start?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Bruton
    Participant

I’m not sure if there are any other novices in the Den, but I’m hoping there are those who can help us out if we are sufficient in number. I’m relatively new to the Den and by way of an introduction, I thought I would create this group because it fits my stage in the process.

I have been terribly slow to realise that I need to learn about ‘writing’ to make the process of writing easier. I merrily skipped through 80,000 words of an idea and then realised a lot of what was there could safely be described as useful for a toilet-paper shortage.

I’m buying books and taking online courses/webinars to improve my knowledge, but I also realise that just reading about it isn’t always enough. It can be hugely instructive to get direct answers in plain English from someone who has been through it themselves.

So, here’s my first question to you all…

How can you be sure you are ‘showing’ and not ‘telling’ and when is it OK to tell?

Any advice very much appreciated.

Andrew

Kate
    Participant

Hi Andrew

I’ve got lots of that toilet paper with little black writing on it stashed all over the place too. It wasn’t until I began to interact with other writers and receive feedback that I started to learn. There’s a daunting amount of craft to get to grips with and I don’t think you ever stop learning.

As to your question, the way I look at it is: telling gives the facts to the reader directly, while showing infers what’s going on, makes the reader use their imagination and lets them participate in the experience. It pulls them into the story.

Telling: He was soaked through by the rain.