Fantasy/SF/Spec fic story list (working)

About Forums Den of Writers Marketplace Fantasy/SF/Spec fic story list (working)

This topic contains 9 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Stevie 1 week, 2 days ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #5322

    Daedalus
    Participant

    A list of potential homes for speculative short fiction. This is a working list. I started it so I would have some structure to my subs but thought it might be helpful for others, so have started adding pubs even when they are not suitable for me or my work. Feel free to suggest additions or amendments

    Magazines

    SF only

    Analog @analog_SF analogsf.com
    Asimov’s @Asimovs_SF asimovs.com
    Lightspeed @lightspeedmag lightspeedmagazine.com
    AHF Magazine (Alt hist, SF) @AHF_Magazine ahfmagazine.com

    Fantasy only

    Beneath Ceaseless Skies @BCSmagazine beneath-ceaseless-skies.com (‘secondary world’ fantasy)
    Syntax and Salt (magical realism) @syntaxandsalt syntaxandsalt.com

    SF/F

    Uncanny @uncannymagazine uncannymagazine.com
    Clarkesworld @clarkesworld clarkesworldmagazine.com
    Strange Horizons @strangehorizons strangehorizons.com (Between Monday and Tuesday 1600 UTC)
    Apex Magazine (+horror) @apexmag apex-magazine.com
    Fantasy & Science Fiction sfsite.com
    Tor.com @tordotcom tor.com (Not generally open to unsolicited short fiction subs)
    Mithila Review (literary) @mithilareview mithilareview.com
    Lackington’s (‘stylised prose’) @lackingtons lackingtons.com
    Metaphorosis @metaphorosismag magazine.metaphorisis.com
    Escape Pod (podcast) escapepod.org
    Not One Of Us (spec fic about outsiders) not-one-of-us.pub
    Vulture Bones (Trans and Enby only) vulturebonesmag.com
    Anathema (queer POC/Indigenous/Aboriginal creators) anathemamag.com

    SF/F novellas

    The Book Smugglers
    Tor.com (at specific times)

    Dark/supernatural/uncanny

    Occult Detective Quarterly
    Mythic Delirium
    The Dark magazine @thedarkmagazine
    Gehenna and Hinnom
    Apex
    Nightmare
    Pseudopod (podcast) pseudopod.org
    Vastarien (‘Ligottian horror’)
    Unnerving Magazine @unnervingmag unnervingmagazine.com
    The Ghost Story @ghosteditor
    Unnerving Magazine @unnervingmag unnervingmagazine.com

    Anthologies

    Martian Migraine Press (specific times)
    Crossed Genres crossedgenres.com @crossedgenres
    Crystal Lake crystallakepub.com

    Genre mix

    Fireside Magazine (all genres)

    Lit

    Cotton Xenomorph
    Moonchild Magazine
    Longleaf Review
    The Ginger Collect
    Hypertrophic Lit
    Former Cactus
    Crack the Spine
    Split Lip Magazine
    Modern Languages Studies
    Door is a Jar Litmag
    Crossways Litmag
    Arcturus
    Ambit Litmag
    Posit Journal
    Across the Margin @acrossthemargin acrossthemargin.com
    The Fiction Pool thefictionpool.com @TheFictionPool
    The Lonely Crowd thelonelycrowd.org @thelonelypress 500-5000 words
    Litro Magazine @litromagazine litro.co.uk
    Rivet Journal (experimental) @RedBridgePress rivetjournal.com
    Barren Magazine barrenmagazine.com
    Sink Hollow Litmag @sinkhollow sinkhollow.org

    Flash

    Ellipsis
    Lost Balloon
    Vestal Review
    Indicia Lit
    Talking Writing (subs until 28 Feb)
    The Molotov Cocktail
    Postcard poems and prose (220 words)
    Smokelong Quarterly
    Moonglasses moonglassesmag.com (‘experimental, literary writing that’s not afraid to get weird’)

    Histfic

    Copperfield Review copperfieldreview.com

    Publishers

    NewCon Press (not currently accepting subs April 2018)

    Offord Road Books (short story collections, pamphlets etc offordroadbooks.co.uk)

    #5323

    Kate
    Participant

    This is brilliant. I’m glad I asked! What a fabulous source of info.

    #5326

    Daedalus
    Participant

    No problem Kate. No point my compiling a list and not giving others the benefit of it. And given my patchy record with subs I’m glad if anyone uses it. It needs a bit of updating, mind

    #5330

    Raine
    Participant

    Also, entropy magazine takes eclectic stuff, and very usefully keeps a ‘where to submit’ page for all formats of writing. They update it every 3 months I think.

    #5331

    Daedalus
    Participant

    Thanks Raine, will take a look and add details to the list

    #5332

    Jonathan
    Participant

    Great list – thanks 🙂

    #5335

    Stevie
    Participant

    Albedo 1 might be worth a look for fantasy, SF and horror. They have four submission windows per year (next on is July) and pay 6 euro per 1000 words.

    http://www.albedo1.com

    #5336

    Daedalus
    Participant

    Thanks Stevie, looks great

    #5337

    Stevie
    Participant

    Though they’re not currently accepting submissions, Shoreline of Infinity (mainly SF) magazine and Luna Press (SF, fantsy and dark fantasy) are worth keeping in mind.

    http://www.lunapresspublishing.com

    http://www.shorelineofinfinity.com

    #5338

    Stevie
    Participant

    Interzone magazine for SF and fantasy, open for submissions of up to 10,000 words. The publisher, TTA Press also do Black Static magazine (horror) and Crimewave magazine, your guess is as good as mine on subject matter :).

    ttapress.com

    Thanks for putting up the list Daeds. I’ve a hankering for doing some short work again, as I’ve done nowt since the Room With a View comp and always good to have some new places to submit to.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.